Schock bids farewell: “I will work tirelessly to make it up to those I’ve let down” – Illinois Review

Blithe Spirit

On his way out of office, the king of selfies Congr. Aaron Shock pulled at least a couple chestnuts out of the fire of of his vanities, here:

“I leave here with sadness and humility,” Schock said. “For those whom I’ve let down, I will work tirelessly to make it up to you. I know that God has a plan for my life. The good book says tells us that ‘before I formed you in the womb, I knew you.””

One was to self-congratulate by claiming humility, when it’s humiliation he’s feeling or ought to be feeling.

The other is pulling the God card out of his deck, as if we have learned to expect such talk from him. Is he known for his piety?

View original post

Leave a Reply

